Isaiah 43 – The Promises of God

But now, O Jacob, listen to the Lord who created you.
O Israel, the one who formed you says,
“Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you.
I have called you by name; you are mine.
When you go through deep waters,
I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
you will not be burned up;
the flames will not consume you.
For I am the Lord, your God,
the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.

Here are some verses that calmed me when I read them today. God is promising to be with me through the tough times in life. There are many things that feel scary and uncertain at the moment and I am realising day by day that I am a fragile being. Life itself is so fragile. In fact, I am quickly learning that everybody is going through some deep waters or scorching fires in their lives, many worse than mine. Perhaps you are too. But what these verses tell me is that God not only understands and promises to be with me, but he promises to protect and sustain me. I will not be burned, I will not be swallowed up by the swell of an angry river. And I have confidence in this because I know from the Bible that God does not break his promises.

Would you like to claim these promises of God in your own life? Well first of all, check out the opening four lines of the passage and the closing two lines too. These lines indicate to whom these promises are given. God has created you and formed you. But has He ransomed you? Are you His? Do you call Him your Saviour? If not, I implore you to find out more about Him. Answer Him when He calls your name and then rest in His grace with the full assurance of His love for you and promises for your life.

Leave a Reply

