Step 2: Digestive supplements

My intolerance test in October 2015 showed up some real problems with foods and lacking vitamins and minerals. My intolerance tester was one of the first people to really talk me through the link between gut health and autoimmunity. There are plenty of books on the matter but a basic, child-language explanation is that powerful and unnatural things in your digestive system (like antibiotics for example) can punch little holes in your gut lining. This allows things like undigested foods to seep through into your blood system. Your immune system doesn’t recognise these invaders and starts attacking them, just as it should do. And then, as in my case with the RA, the immune system then gets confused between the proteins in this undigested invader and the proteins in your joints, so it starts attacking the joints too. If you can reduce the invaders getting through into your system, then you can reduce the anger of your immune system and thus its attacking nature.

My intolerance tester advised some supplements for helping to ‘heal the gut’ and some digestive supplements to help make sure the food was being digested properly. Now, I’m not a ‘health food shop nut’. I don’t like all of these way-out methods and am not going to waste my money on expensive, latest-things. So I was a bit overwhelmed with the list of things she wanted me to try. I decided to forget the ‘heal the gut’ idea (which just sounded a bit weird at that time) but the idea of aiding digestion sounded good. I know I eat too fast and don’t chew properly, so this was action I was willing to take.

So from that time, I started taking a digestive enzyme with every meal (I don’t necessarily now but for the first 6-8 months, I took them all the time). I use Quest Enzyme Digest with peppermint oil, which gives you 90 tablets for about £8 from Holland & Barrett. The idea of this is that it just gives your stomach extra enzymes to what it’s already producing, in order to help break down the food properly. I have the idea in my head that we don’t all produce the same amount of digestive enzymes as everyone else, so we autoimmuners may well be lacking here. I can’t remember if I read that somewhere or came up with it as my own theory, so don’t quote me on that one.

The other supplement she recommended was Acidophilus (20 billion – ultra maximum). This is just a ‘friendly bacteria’ tablet. Admittedly, it was sold to me as an ‘improve your gut health’ tablet but since I’d heard of pro-biotic yoghurts and such-like that boast ‘friendly bacteria’, I didn’t think it was too way-out! In a bottle you get 60 tablets (one a day) for about £18 from Holland & Barrett. Expensive, yes. But I do think this one’s worth it. These days I take it maybe 5 days a week.

I would ultimately come back to the ‘heal the gut supplements’ and they are important. I wonder if I’d started them at this point, in October 2015 rather than February 2016, my journey may have been a little quicker…?

Leave a Reply

